Hot Tip for Dry Elbows: A Malaysian Alien Column #20

LavendarSaltScrub_beauty

Last weekend I discovered an amazing new trick at the sauna in the gym. This is probably nothing new to you seasoned beauty experts, but it was a little bit of a revelation for me!

After unenthusiastically running on the treadmill (I am a huge advocate of HIT High Intensity – sans interval as I haven’t mastered this – training, but I haven’t been able to let go of the feeling that if I stop running I’ll stop getting results. Which is hilarious, because I don’t get results anyway), I usually do my weight training, stretches, and then my hair mask and sauna time.

This time, in the last 10 minutes of my sauna sesh, I started rubbing my elbows with the palm of my hands. By this point I had worked up quite a sweat, and I was using the the friction of my palms, and the fluidity from the sweat (sounds disgusting, bear with me), and rubbing with consistent pressure. The old dry skin on my elbows just started rubbing off, and it kept coming. After 10 minutes my arms were sore, but I bet you if I kept going, I could have gotten more dry old skin sloughed off.

Being a dark skinned Asian, my joints and creases appear darker than the rest of my body, mainly due to this build up of dry old skin. After the sauna revelation, my elbows had lost that dark scaly look and there weren’t any white patches of dehydrated skin. I will be doing this again!

Leave a Reply

